You are here

Osijek Twin Towns

Twin towns or sister cities are a form of legal or social agreement between towns, cities, counties, provinces, regions and even countries in geographically and politically different areas to promote cultural and possibly commercial connections. The City of Osijek has signed Charters of Friendship with several cities and established firm and friendly relations with them. 

The signing of the Charters were aimed at the promotion of friendly relations among social, cultural, educational, economic, sports and other subjects and institutions of the twin towns. In these Charters has been confirmed that through friendship all these relations will be strengthened and deepened.

Pecs (Hungary) 1973

Pécs (Hungary) - since 1973

Pecs is the fifth largest city in south Hungary and seat of the Baranya County. According to 2005 census, Pécs has about 150.000 inhabitants. City of Pécs established special relations with the City of Osijek and it was the first signed Charter in Osijek.

Pforzheim (Germany) 1994

Pforzheim (Germany) - since 1994

Cities of Osijek and Pforzheim signed Charter of Friendship and Cooperation in 1994 and was confirmed in 2008. Pforzheim is a city of nearly 120,000 inhabitants in the federal state of Baden-Württemberg, in the southwest of Germany. Relations to Pforzheim are based on economic, cultural, educational, scientific and sports area dating back as far as 1990’s of the last century. The City of Pforzheim itself and other organizations from Pforzheim, as well as large Croatian population in Pforzheim, offered Osijek great support and humanitarian aid in the war aggression on our city during the war period 1991-1995.

Maribor (Slovenia) 1995

Maribor (Slovenia) 1995

Maribor (German name: Marburg and der Drau) is the second largest city in Slovenia with 96 thousand inhabitants (2015 census). The city’s development was and is determined by its geographical position on the juncture of roads connecting Central Europe with Southern Europe, as well as Western Europe with the Pannonian plain. Due to its closeness to  the Austrian border, Maribor is cultural and economic centre of the north-eastern Slovenia. Osijek and Maribor signed Charter of Friendship in 1995 that simply confirmed friendly relations between citizens and institutions of these two cities in the past.

Tuzla (Bosnia and Herzegovina) 1996

Tuzla (Bosnia and Herzegovina) - since 1996

Tuzla is third largest city in Bosnia and Herzegovina and is the seat of the Tuzla Canton. It is the economic, cultural, educational, scientific, health and tourist center of northeast Bosnia. According to 20133 census Tuzla had 111 thousand inhabitants, and Croatian population is almost 15%. City of Osijek and City of Tuzla signed Charter of Friendship and Cooperation in 1996, thus confirmed good relations between two cities on the basis of cooperation in economy, environmental protection, culture and sports.

Ploiesti (Romania) 1996

Ploiești (Romania) - since 1996

Ploiești is the county seat of the Prahova County and lies in the (historical) region of Wallachia in Romania. The city is situated just 56 km north from Romanian capital Bucharest with growing infrastructure and many different development projects currently underway. Ploiești is a strong industrial center, focused on the oil production and refining industry. Cities Osijek and Ploiesti signed the Charter of Friendship and Cooperation in 1996,  and this started further cooperation in the field of culture, economy and sports.

Lausanne (Switzerland) 1997

Lausanne (Switzerland) - since 1997

Lausanne is a city in Romandy, the French-speaking part of Switzerland and the capital and biggest city of the canton of Vaud. Lausanne is located 62 km northeast of Geneva. The headquarters of the IOC (International Olympic Committee) are located in Lausanne. Lausanne has 146 thousand inhabitants (2015 census) and presents one of the most developed cities in Switzerland. City of Osijek and City of Lausanne signed the Friendship and Cooperation Charter in 1997.

Nitra (Slovakia) 1997

Nitra (Slovakia) - since 1997

Nitra is a city in western Slovakia situated at the foot of Zobor Mountain in the valley of the river Nitra. With a population of just over 85 thousand it is the 4th largest city in Slovakia. Nitra is also one of the oldest cities in Slovakia and the country's earliest political and cultural center. Today, it is a seat of the Nitra Region and Nitra District. Cites Osijek and Nitra signed Charter of Friendship and Cooperation in 1997. Through the cooperation between Osijek and Nitra, friendly relations between Croatia and Slovakia have been established as well.

Budapest XIII District (Hungary) 2001

Budapest XIII District (Hungary) - since 2001

Budapest is the capital of Hungary and is Hungarian largest political, commercial, industrial, cultural and transportation center. By 2016 census, Budapest had 1.8 million inhabitants, down from a mid-1980’s peak of 2.1 million. Budapest became a single city occupying both banks of the river Danube with a unification of Buda, Óbuda (old Buda) and Pest on 17 November 1873. Contact between City of Osijek and Budapest XIII District was established through mediation of the Hungarian Embassy in 1998. Official visits were paid to both cities. The commemorative plaque was unveiled in Osijek as remembrance to acceptance of war refugees from Hungary in Hungarian Revolution of 1956. All that friendly activity resulted in signing the Charter of Friendship and Cooperation between Osijek and Budapest XIII District in year 2001.

Prizren (Republic of Kosovo) 2010

Prizren (Republic of Kosovo) - since 2010

Prizren, with the population of 177 thousand is in a true sense of a word, a museum city. It is located on the banks of the Bistrica River with lots of narrow streets and oriental influence. Prizren is the seat of numerous handcrafts (such as goldsmiths and filigree shops), textile and food processing industry. Osijek and Prizren signed “Partnership and Friendship Agreement between City of Osijek and Prizren Municipality” in 2010 and thus the City of Osijek has gained its ninth twin town.

Subotica (Republic of Serbia) 2010

Subotica (Republic of Serbia) - since 2010

Subotica (Hungarian: Szabadka) is a city in northern Serbia, the second largest city of the Voivodina region. According to 2011 census, the city's population is 98 thousand. It is the administrative centre of the North Bačka District. After many years of cooperation, Osijek signed the Charter of Good Neighborly Relations and Cooperation on September 1st, 2004. Through official visits and personal contacts, cooperation of the two cities was enhanced in the fields of economy and many other areas.

Vicenza (Italy) 2014

Vicenza (Italy) - since 2014

City of Vicenza is the capital of the Province of Vicenza, situated in the Veneto region. Vicenza with the population of 115 thousand inhabitants is also known as the city of Palladio
During and after the Patriotic War in the Republic of Croatia, City of Vicenza helped the City of Osijek in the humanitarian field, and also helped with donations to the restoration of the Croatian National Theatre. Cooperation has been continued successfully after that war, which resulted in signing the Charter of Friendship and Cooperation on June 30th 2014.

Elbasan (Albania) 2015

Elbasan (Albania) - since 2015

Elbasan, located in central Albania on the River Shkumbin, is the capital of the Elbasan County. It is one of the largest towns in Albania with nearly 142 thousand inhabitants (2011 census). Throughout history the city was under the Turkish, Serbian, Bulgarian, Austrian and Italian rule. Nowadays it presents an important industrial centre of production (mostly iron and cement) and also known for the production of ferrochrome and wood. Elbasan is a multi-religious and university town with a rich historical heritage.The Charter was signed in 2015.